вторник, 9 апреля 2013 г.

Sean Tyla - Back In The Saddle 2007 Hawkhead Records

Artist: Sean Tyla
Album: Back In The Saddle

Label: Hawkhead Records
Catalog#: HHCD 0001
Release date: Nov. 5, 2007
Genre: Rock, Pub Rock
Duration: 00:52:09

This is Sean Tyla's first new studio album since 'Rhythm Of The Swing' back in 1983 and is his ninth offering to date. It offers ten new songs plus a unique and innovative, eight-minute version of Dylan's "All Along The Watchtower". The set features Sean's current band - Vaughan Lonsdale (guitars), Dave Rickaby (bass) and Ken Ward (drums) - as well as friends Ian Ellis (Savoy Brown, Clouds) on bass, Gary Moberley (Sweet, Bee Gees) on keyboards, Chris Staines (Asia, Primal Scream) on guitar, mandolin and lap-steel, Paul Kennedy on guitar and the extremely talented Emma Fisk on acoustic and electric violin. The album was produced by Sean Tyla and engineered by Paul Kennedy, Willie Deans and Mark Wayman.
This 'comeback' CD, for want of a better word is quite astonishing really. I rated Tyla as one of the best songwriters and singers of the seventies and went to practically every Ducks Deluxe and Tyla Gang gig I could afford to - I was penniless student then. He disappeared for a while when the Gang split up and had several hits in Germany and other parts of Europe. I've now heard those albums and while they don't have the raw edge of DD or TG, the songs are once again, expertly crafted. Back In The Saddle has some real gems, like Montanarama, Trust and the autobiographical, Hollywood Blues and not one song offers anything less than you would expect from this master of the roots rock genre. I went to see the reformed Ducks last year and bought their new mini CD. More fine songs that knock anything Weller, Lowe or Costello can write into a cocked hat! If you can take a twenty year sabbatical and come back with material of this quality, you deserve a Grammy, Sean! I recommend it highly.

 • Tracklist:

01. Montanarama 5.33
02. Trust 4.06
03. White Magic Woman 4.01
04. All Along the Watchtower 8.28
05. Coldwater Canyon 4.01
06. Cross Pony 4.28
07. Frankie's Song 4.40
08. Moon Falls Down 3.47
09. Fightin' Fifty Boogie 3.21
10. Hollywood Blues 4.54
11. Forty Roads 4.50

Band Members:
Dave Rickaby - Bass
Sean Tyla - Guitar, Vocals
Vaughan Lonsdale - Guitars
Ken Ward - Drums

And friends: 
Ian Ellis (Savoy Brown, Clouds) - Bass
Gary Moberley (Sweet, Bee Gees) - Keyboards
Chris Staines (Asia, Primal Scream) - Guitar, Mandolin, Lap-Steel
Emma Fisk - Acoustic and Electric Violin
Paul Kennedy - Guitar

-----  ☆☆☆ ----- 


Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий