вторник, 4 июня 2013 г.

Matthew Sigmon - One Opens Up (2006 Made-Up-Media)

Artist/Band: Matthew Sigmon
Album: One Opens Up
Label: Made-Up-Media
Copyright: Matthew Sigmon
Release Date: 2006
Country: USA
Genre: Rock, Modern Rock

Format: FLAC (tracks+.cue)
Bitrate: lossless
Total Length: 00:56:14

Sigmon's premiere solo release "One Opens Up" addresses an all-too-noticeable absence of intelligent, world-wise pop music. This thirteen song collection is an engaging piece of work that aspires to re-energize the genre for adults who grew up believing that music needed substance as well as style to be great. The album was released September 5, 2006.
This self-performed, self-produced collection of catchy, witty observations has culminated from a decade of contemplation and introspection. Navigating in and around established pop territory, Sigmon layers Beatle-esque harmonies on top of Matthew Sweet pop sensibilities, and sprinkles in a quirkiness that is reminiscent of Peter Gabriel. Songs like "Millennium Man" take stock of humanity's current state after "three million years of evolution" while "Possibility"'s backbeat smacks of Elvis Costello's "Pump It Up". These thirteen tracks forge a sound that recalls many influences, yet is clearly unique, inspiring many more listens. Born Matthew Brian Sigmon (1963 Elgin, IL), he first appeared on MTV in 1985 as songwriter, lead guitar and vocalist of The Basics (Danville, IL). He went on to form the band, Rain People (Atlanta), signing with Epic/CBS, publishers Warner Brothers Music/Made Up Music. Rain People recorded a self-titled release (1989) which won critical acclaim as CD Review's "Editor's Choice - Year's 25 Best" and gained international attention.
Lightning Strikes Twice to Punctuate Sigmon's Recording. Sigmon built his recording studio from the ground up in his home in the north Georgia mountains, but in October, 2001, prior to recording, a lightning strike rendered nearly all of the electronics in the house useless. "This was actually a lucky strike because it enabled me to replace some computers and studio gear with money from insurance. It was the perfect way to get this album off and running." Recording continued until May, 2006 when a thunderstorm produced yet another bolt of lightning which spidered out and connected with his house. The lightning travelled through his computer and mouse, zapping him and his pet dog. "I was making final tweaks to the master when I was struck. My entire right side was buzzing. I half expected to look down and see my body on the floor! But Cooper and I were fine, the recordings were fine, and I could only presume that something was telling me I had come full circle so I quickly wrapped it up."

-------- ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ --------
  • Tracklist:

01. Leaving Day 3:10
02. Underway 3:28
03. Where Do You Go 3:43
04. Angels In White 5:20
05. Feels Like A Finger 2:58
06. Fascination 4:54
07. With You 3:59
08. Millennium Man 4:48
09. Not Tomorrow Yet 4:58
10. Possibility 4:53
11. Sunny Shiny Moon 3:32
12. My Real Address 4:21
13. Between The I's 6:10

Matthew Sigmon - Lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Julie B. Anderson - Keyboards, backing vocals
Todd Briscoe - Bass, backing vocals
Peter Stroud - Lead guitar
Sean O'Rourke - Drums

-----  ☆☆☆ ----- 


Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий