воскресенье, 3 ноября 2013 г.

Manchild - Manchild 1. (1972 Capitol, Canada) 

Artist: Manchild
Album: Manchild 1.
Label: Capitol Records
Catalog#: ST-11104
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Canada
Released: 1972
Genre: Rock, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Psychedelic Rock, Folk Rock
Duration: 00:40:47

Not to be confused with the late seventies Chicago soul group or the power rock trio from Miami for that matter, this Manchild was from Louisiana and consisted of David Bankston (lead vocals-high harmony-acoustic & electric guitar), Sherman Bernard (piano-bass-accordion-percussion), Sam Broussard (lead guitar-bass-mandolin-middle harmony) and Neale Lundgren (lead vocals-acoustic guitar-fife-drums-percussion). The group was also joined by studio personnel including Kenny Malone (drums-percussion), Frosty Horton (bass) and Buddy Spicher (viola-violin- fiddle). Lundgren had previously recorded as a soloist for Columbia and Epic Records in the 60s and in the 1980s became a Benedictine monk and recorded an album of original musical compositions documenting his years in the monastery entitled “Time Of The Harvest”. Broussard as a teenager had shared the stage with the likes of Ramblin’ Jack Elliot, Sonny Terry, Brownie McGee and Dave Van Ronk. He went on to do studio work with Michael Martin Murphy, Nicolette Larson, Foster & Lloyd and Jimmy Buffet. Bankston is a well known veteran of the American music landscape, after the break up of Manchild, he spent many years performing in musical theater and opera, and is currently associate professor of music at Coastal carolina University. The album was recorded in Nashville under the auspices of Billy Sherill and is a strange but delightful mixture of progressive folk and rock that’s vocally similar in style to groups such as America or Loggins & Messina or instrumentally to “Shady Grove” era Quicksilver (that piano arpeggio in “Miss Mis’sippi sounds like it came from that lp’s “Flute Song”) some nice tracks here from “High Tailin’ Blues” and the yodeling vocal of “Love Dance” to the fifty-ish “City Lights” and “Song For A Dead Man”. (Prairie Prince Minsky)

-------- ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ --------
  Side One:
A1. Live Right, Die Right - 02:02
A2. Cotton Eyed Joe - 01:53
A3. High Tailin' Blues - 03:40
A4. Love Dance - 03:11
A5. Dancing People 03:40
A6. Song For A Dead Man - 02:46
A7. Goin' Home - 03:10
 • Side Two:
B1. Land Lady - 02:57
B2. City Lights - 04:03
B3. Daddy - 03:19
B4. Miss Mis'sippi - 06:14
B5. One Fine Morning - 02:49

David Bankston - Lead Vocals, Acoustic and Electric Guitar
Sherman Bernard - Piano, Bass, Accordion, Percussion
Sam Broussard - Lead Guitar, Bass, Mandolin, Vocals Middle Harmony
Neale Lundgren - Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Fife, Drums, Percussion

-----  ☆☆☆ ----- 


Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий