четверг, 11 июля 2013 г.

Mike D'Abo - Hidden Gems & Treasured Friends (2004)

Artist: Mike D'Abo
Album: Hidden Gems & Treasured Friends
Label: Angel Air Records
Catalog#: SJPCD-156
Release: Jan. 20, 2004
Country: US
Genre: Pop/Rock, Soft Rock
Duration: 01:13:07

Full title - Hidden Gems & Treasured Friends. 2004 compilation of never before released recordings (including a previously unreleased 1972 album) from 1971-73. Booklet includes rare & unseen photos from d'Abo (as well as sleeve notes) & Mo Foster. Features 18 tracks including an instrumental version of the Dylan song 'Mighty Quinn' & d'Abo's original version of 'Handbags & Gladrags'. Angel Air. 2004. Recorded between 1971 & 1972. Includes liner note by Mike D'Abo.

MIKE d’ABO got a call from MO FOSTER who had played bass with him in the past and he advised that whilst reviewing his tape storage he had found various tapes, demos and acetates that they had recorded together in the early 70’s. Mike painstakingly reviewed the 40 tracks seldom if ever previously heard.
The tracks give a real insight into where Mike was, musically speaking, in the early 70’s. Here track by track were the musical footprints of someone still searching for their true identity. Mike said ‘Musically frustrated may be an overused term, but in my case, it’s the best way to describe my state of mind in the aftermath of MANFRED MANN, which had disbanded in 1969. Glimpses of my song writing talents had already been revealed through “Handbags & Gladrags”. Now the stage was set for me to deliver what I was capable of.’
Following their 1972 tour of USA the d’Abo band returned to UK to record what was supposed to be his next LP but due to management pressure after recording these tracks which now are released here for the first time Mike recorded “Broken Rainbows” which was then released as his follow up to “Rachel’s Place” Now at last “Hidden Gems & Treasured Friends” is released in all its glory.

-------- ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ --------
  • Tracklisr:

01. Poor Old Joe 04:07
02. I'm A Ram 04:16
03. May 03:20
04. For Jackson 04:12
05. Soldier Sailor 04:30
06. All At Sea 02:28
07. Relax 04:30
08. Fuel To Burn 05:45
09. Day The War Broke Out 04:02
10. Slim Pickings 03:52
11. The Mighty Quinn 02:00
12. I Don't Want To Be There 03:35
13. Salvation Song 03:43
14. West Is Best 03:38
15. Little Miss Understood 04:56
16. My Life (Is Starting From Today) 03:41
17. Fuel To Burn 05:42
18. Handbags And Gladrags 05:37

Mike D'Abo - Vocals, Piano, Keyboards, Moog Synthesizer, Bass
Mike Joop - Acoustic & Electric Guitars
Jack Lancaster - Flute, Clarinet, Saxophone
Mo Foster - Bass
Grant Serpell - Drums, Timpani

-----  ☆☆☆ ----- 


Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий