воскресенье, 3 февраля 2013 г.

Martin Hagfors - Men And Flies (2009 MDW Records)

Artist: Martin Hagfors
Album: Men And Flies
Label: MDW Records
Catalog#: ME 011
Release: Jan. 19, 2009
Genre: Pop/Rock, Folk, World, & Country
Format: FLAC (track,+.cue+log)
Bitrate: lossless
Duration: 00:44:44

Artistic musician Martin Hagfors reveals memorable shades of ‘70’s Pop music on his excellent album, “Men And Flies.” His thought provoking lyrics weave stories of political and social concerns and he creates a soulful blend of well crafted songs. The title track, “Men And Flies,” is set to an easy flowing tone that is sung with a calm and soulful tonality. The song, “The Kernel Question,” is a beautiful song that features the charming vocals floating around the sweet sounds of the piano. “I Need To Know,” is another ballad like song that has a peaceful easy feeling. The song, “It’s A Cinch,” has a psychedelic tonality that catches your ears with an engaging ambiance and is richly textured and well orchestrated. Fans of 1970’s Pop music will find the terrific CD, “Men And Flies,” a fresh and original blast from the past and thoroughly enjoyable.
                                                                             - Diane and the RadioIndy.com / Reviewer Team.

Martin Hagfors, a brilliant tunesmith & musician paints his masterpiece with the release of his solo debut Men and Flies. Considered to be one of Scandinavia’s leading folk-rock artists, Martins’ unique blend of acoustic psychedelia places him in solidly in the same camp as Brian Wilson, Sufjan Stevens, Colin Blunstone and Beck. Martin, a politically and socially active bloke is often likened to a modern day Woody Guthrie. A natural storyteller with irony for days, he addresses his concern over the war in Iraq and CO2 quotas in “I Need to Know.” Similar to Guthrie, Hagfors has earned his reputation and his success as a working artist, constantly writing and gigging.
The songs for Men and Flies were written on guitar and piano and arranged and produced by Lars Horntveth of Jaga Jazzist and The National Bank. There is no shortage of praise from the Norwegian press; “Hagfors could be nominated for best composer, best debutant and Grammy legend (Spellemann) award all in the same year. His songs immediately grab the listener. ” -Dagens NA¦ringsliv
Performing on the record were Kenneth Kapstad, Nikolai Eilertsen, David Wallumrod, Mathias Eick, Erik Johannessen, Morten Qvenild, Lars Havard Haugen and an eminent string section consisting of Frode Larsen, Oyvind Fossheim, Stig-Ove Ose,Audun Andre Sandvik and Marius Flateby.
Hagfors has released over a dozen records with the bands HGH and Home Groan. He is admired for his diversity and experimentation with a wide variety of instruments and sounds. On Men and Flies, Hagfors retains his traditional folk spirit but blends it with Horntveth’s genius arrangements creating a unique combination of orchestrated pop, jazz and chamber music. The horn section that includes the ECM solo artist, Mathias Eick is particularly strong in the beautifully orchestrated, lyrically sensuous and originally titled, “Tattooed On My Eyes”.
American-born Hagfors has collaborated with a variety of Norwegian musicians such as The National Bank, Motorpsycho, Askil Holm, the ever popular Hellbillies and has also co-written songs with Big Bang. And singer Bobby Bare recorded Martin’s “Tears of Lead” on His last release Dreams of Yesterday. Men & Flies will be released in America on cd and beautiful double gatefold vinyl on February 23rd with distribution by CD Baby.

 • Tracklist:

01. Appetite 03:43
02. Men And Flies 04:15
03. Scarlet 04:33
04. The Kernel Question 05:49
05. Liaison 04:52
06. Tattooed On My Eyes 04:07
07. I Need To Know 05:04
08. It's A Cinch 04:29
09. Married Man 07:52

Audun Andre Sandvik - Cello
Marius Flatby* - Double Bass
Kenneth Kapstad - Drums
Lars Horntveth - Harmony Vocals, Guitar, Steel Guitar (Lap), Piano, Synthesizer, Glockenspiel,
Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Vibraphone, Performer (Kokle), Percussion;
Martin Hagfors - Lead Vocals, Harmony Vocals, Piano (Wurlitzer),
Twelve-string Guitar (12 String Octave Guitar), Performer (Pedal Board);
Nikolai Hangsle Eilertsen - Bass Guitar
Lars Havard Haugen - Steel Guitar (Pedal)
David Wallumrod - Organ
Morten Qvenild - Piano (tracks: 2, 3)
Frode Larsen, Oyvind Fossheim - Violin
Lars Havard Haugen - Steel Guitar (Pedal)
Erik Johannessen - Trombone
Mathias Eick - Trumpet, French Horn
Stig-Ove Ose - Viola

-----  ☆☆☆ ----- 


1 комментарий:

  1. Отличный альбом! Алекс, снова ты, молодчина, раскопал жемчужину! Беру послушать с благодарностью!