понедельник, 18 февраля 2013 г.

Alex Taylor - Voodoo In Me (1989 King Snake Records)

Artist: Alex Taylor
Album: Voodoo In Me

Label: King Snake Records
Catalog#: KS 015
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1989
Genre: Blues Rock, Rhythm & Blues
Total Time: 00:37:09

New England’s celebrated Taylor family included (most famously) James, as well as Livingston, Kate and (the lesser heard from) Alex. Out of the four, Alex’s voice was best-suited to sing the blues, and he went on to craft at least two defining statements of the early 70’s. He also mentored his brother James at a crucial time in the younger musician’s life, the two forming a short-lived band called the Fabulous Corsairs when James had dropped out of high school. Although the Taylor family traveled, they maintained their New England roots by summering in Martha’s Vineyard. Alex played the local circuit and eventually gained the attention of Phil Walden’s Capricorn Label from Macon, Georgia, which had just broken through on a national level in 1971 with the Allman Brothers Band. The young musician became a great friend to the Allmans, opening many of the band’s concerts and “borrowing” several of them on his two best albums: With Friends and Neighbors and the following year’s Dinnertime. Guests included Jaimoe on drums and Chuck Leavell on keyboards as well as the great King Curtis on saxophone just before his death. Ironically, although Taylor’s roots were New England, he is most associated with Southern rock because of this early 70’s work. After that he continued to release albums only occasionally, his final statement being Voodoo in Me from 1989.

  • Track Listing:

01. Voodoo In You 3:18
02. He Will Break Your Heart 4:18
03. Tequila Quicksand 3:11
04. Catch Me When I Fall 4:00
05. Smokin' At The Gas Pump 3:00
06. Vanessa 3:04
07. Graveyard Dogs 3:22
08. You Got A Way With Me 3:21
09. Time On The Inside 4:23
10. North Carolina 4:19

Alex Taylor and James Taylor - Vocals
Ron Prince, Yvonne Jackson, Ralph Kinsey, Kenneth Kinsey - Back Vocals
Lawson 'Buzz' Montsinger, Bill Samuel, Noble 'Thin Man' Watts - Saxophone
Gregg Allman - Keyboards
Bryan Bassett, Ernie Lancaster, Dru Lombar - Guitar
Jim Shepley, Tommy Talton - Guitar
Denny Best, Jim Payne - Drums
Bob Greenlee - Bass
Donald Kinsey - Guitar, Vackground vocals
Lucky Peterson - Keyboards, Background vocals
Sylvestor Polk - Trumpet
Jumpin' Johnny Sansone - Harmonica

-----  ☆☆☆ ----- 


Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий