четверг, 18 октября 2012 г.

Will Ray - Invisible Birds 1996 ℗ & © Round Tower Records

Artist: Will Ray
Album: Invisible Birds
℗ & © 1996 Round Tower Records
Catalog#: RTMCD 84
Country: UK
Genre: Blues Rock, Country Rock
Duration: 00:58:54

It's almost impossible to describe Will's first solo album. In 14 songs you get the complete repertoire of Farm Jazz, Cow Thrash, Range Rock, Prairie Metal and Nuke-A-Billy. Will sings and plays through songs about U-Hauls, prisons, Catholicism and murdering birds.

Will Ray is a stalwart of the West Coast country/roots music scene. A long-time member of the infamous Hellecasters, Ray is also a much in-demand guitarist. Like peers Dwight Yoakam, Rosie Flores and Jim Lauderdale, Ray makes music that can't be mistaken for anything, but his own brand. Of the 14 cuts here, all self-produced to perfection, standouts include "That's History," "Bless Me Father" and the very original "Nagged to Death." Also good is "Flame Thrower" and Johnny Cash's "Folsom Prison Blues." All tunes either rock or shuffle and twang with raw energy. Lyrically, Ray is just as interesting with influences including Ray Charles, Sons of the Pioneers and Cash. Demanding that his audience think for themselves, Ray places himself beyond the reach of the pop schlock currently passing for country music on radio. Given support by some of the West Coast's finest players, including Jay Dee Maness, Ray comes across as a bright intense meteor firing up the night sky and leaving everything in its wake forever changed. Accomplished and skilled, this is an eclectic romp through music created by an outstanding artist of integrity.
                                                                                                                        - Jana Pendragon
            • Will Ray Bio: www.willray.biz

             ♪  Tracklist:

            01. When The U-Haul Pulled Away 4:29
            02. That's History 3:13
            03. Folsom Prison Blues 4:05
            04. Invisible Birds 4:25
            05. Lucky Man 5:31
            06. Bless Me Father 3:47
            07. Gaylord's Dock 5:00
            08. Nagged To Death 3:17
            09. East Of Jesus 3:54
            10. Changes 3:45
            11. Wishful Thinking 3:54
            12. Flamethrower 4:33
            13. Come Dance With Me 4:05
            14. Slippery When Wet 4:56

Byron Berline - Fiddle
Billy Block, Steve Duncan - Drums
John Davis, Dave Hall, Ritt Henn - Bass
Lemmy Ottohare, Barbara Shopp - Tambourine
Will Ray - Arranger, Composer, Acoustic & Electric Guitar, Producer, Vocals
David Bolger, Randy Crenshaw, Susie St. Logan - Back.Vocals
Tim Gorman - Organ, Piano
John "Juke" Logan - Harmonica
Jay Dee Maness - Steel Guitar
Marty Rifkin - Dobro
Ben Thar, Don Thatt - Cowbell
Lee Allen - Art Direction

-----  ☆☆☆ ----- 


Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий