четверг, 15 мая 2014 г.

Roger Tillison - Roger Tillison's Album (1971 Atco Records)

Artist: Roger Tillison
Album: Roger Tillison's Album
Label: Atco Records
Catalog#: SD33-355
Format: Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Released: 1971
Genre: Rock, Folk, World, & Country
Duration: 00:35:58

Roger Tillison was born in Oklahoma, and began his musical career at a young age as a jazz trumpet player. He dropped out of school, joined the military, and a few years later went to art school. It was this time, in the early 60s, that he was turned on to the sound of the folk revival. His musical direction changed, and he embarked on a career as a folk singer as he travelled America. In L.A., he became friends with such greats as Leon Russell, JJ Cale, Jim Keltner, Levon Helm and others. One of his songs, "You Don't Have To Paint Me A Picture", became a hit for Gary Lewis in 1966. He also briefly performed as a folk duo with guitarist Jesse Ed Davis.
His solo album was recorded and released in 1971, produced by Davis, and featuring Keltner in the drum seat. It's a great mix of roots-rock styles, ranging from hard bluesy shuffles to moments of country-folk. Alongside six original songs are covers of Bob Dylan's "Down In The Flood", Woody Guthrie's "Old Cracked Looking Glass", Don Nix's "Yazoo City Jail", Stevie Wonder's "Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever" and The Band's "Get Up Jake" (which they wouldn't release themselves until 1972).
Tillison has travelled and done various things since this album, including time working as an illustrator for the army, and helping build a memorial for Vietnam war vets in New Mexico. He has toured with JJ Cale, who covered his song "One Step Ahead Of The Blues" on 1982's Grasshopper. He eventually released his second album in 2003, over thirty years since his first. Today he lives in Tulsa, Oklahoma. ~Mamble Jamble (2003).

 • Side One:
A1. Down In The Flood - 03:39
A2. Old Cracked Looking Glass - 03:25
A3. Good Time Gal - 03:23
A4. Just Before The Break Of Day - 03:34
A5. Yazoo City Jail - 03:23
  Side Two:
B1. Let'Em Roll Johnny - 05:18
B2. One Good Friend - 02:41
B3. Lonesome Louie - 02:20
B4. Old Santa Fe - 02:59
B5. Get Up Jake - 02:37
B6. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever - 03:10

Roger Tillison - Lead Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
Don Preston, Joey Cooper - Backing Vocals
Jesse Ed Davis - Banjo,Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar
Billy Rich - Bass Guitar
Jim Keltner - Drums
Bobby Bruce - Fiddle
Larry Knechtel - Harmonica, Organ, Keyboards
Sandy Konikoff - Percussion
Stan Szelest - Piano

-----  ☆☆☆ ----- 


Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий