вторник, 8 апреля 2014 г.

Doughboys - Shakin' Our Souls (2012) 

Artist: Doughboys
Album: Shakin' Our Souls
Label: Ram Records
Catalog#: 803
Released: October 16, 2012
Country: US
Genre: Rock, Garage Rock
Duration: 00:48:46

Группа Doughboys, очень напоминающая молодых и ярких The Rolling Stones, а временами и The Yardbirds с The Kinks. Команда образовалась в 1965 г. под названием The Ascots, потом была переименована, и, наконец, распалась и несколько десятилетий о ней никто не слышал и её никто не знал. Слава к группе пришла неожиданно и только в наши дни, совсем недавно (тем не менее есть фильм, снятый о них в 1966 г. Дэйвом Маккартни). Говорят, что музыканты радостно восприняли возрождение интереса к их музыке. Они собрались вновь, дали серию концертов и уже выпустили несколько альбомов, включая и Shakin’ Our Souls, вышедший в 2012 году на лейбле Ram Records.

The Doughboys third studio album since their comeback – they split in 1966 and reformed in 2000 – is a bonafide rocker. The quartet of Myke Scavone (lead vocals, harp), Richard X. Heyman (drums, vocals), Mike Caruso (bass, vocals) and Gar Francis (guitar, vocals) shoot out of traps, guitars blazing, and seemingly eager to make up for the lost years. Not that the individuals involved spent 34 years sitting on their hands wondering what might have been. All four members carved out interesting music careers in the intervening years, from playing with Jimi Hendrix and fronting Ram Jam to acclaimed solo recordings and premier session work. There second album “Act Your Rage” won them worldwide acclaim and “Shakin’ Our Souls” should cement their new found rep.
So, it’s a rock record for sure, but one that’s fixed firmly in their New Jersey garage roots. Big and soulful, it fizzes with punk energy, but these four are no naive spike-topped teenage strummers and biscuit tin bangers. They know exactly what they’re up to and the songs are constructed and arranged for maximum impact and instant thrills. Opener “Land” sets the tone. The band is on fire from the start and the track swaggers out the speakers like a power pop Steppenwolf in a hurry to get somewhere. “Rush On You” hits the pavement on a walking bass line – the swagger is no less defined – and the title track mixes up their Stones, Faces, ‘60s pop / ‘70s rock influences to fine effect. It’s no surprise to hear that Little Steven has already chosen a track from “Shakin’ Our Souls” for his Underground Garage “Coolest Song in the World” gong – just like he did for “Act Your Rage”. (www.thedoughboysnj.com).

-------- ☆☆☆☆☆☆☆ --------

01. Land 04:24
02. Rush on You 02:41
03. One More Time 03:03
04. It's a Cryin' Shame 02:57
05. Tuggin' Me Back 03:01
06. Keep Your Dog Off Me 03:46
07. Shakin' My Soul 03:26
08. Slip Back 03:52
09. Second Street 04:16
10. Love Is the Seed 03:23
11. Until the Clock Strikes Doom 02:55
12. Sleeper 03:32
13. Trail Left Behind 02:55
14. Route 22 04:35

     The Doughboys - Mixing, Producer
     Scott Venittelli - Cover Art Concept, Cover Design
     Kurt Reil - Associate Producer, Engineer
     Alex Saltz - Mastering
     Ed Stasium - Mastering Consultant 

Gar Francis - Guitar (12 String), Acoustic and Electric Guitar, Organ, Vocals
Mike Caruso - Bass, Percussion, Vocals
Richie Heyman - Drums, Percussion, Vibraphone, Vocals, Wurlitzer
Myke Scavone - Composer, Percussion, Vocals
Richard X. Heyman - Composer, Lyricist
Nancy Leigh - Engineer
Mark Lindsay - Saxophone, Vocals (Background)
Kristin Pinell, Genya Ravan - Vocals (Background)
John Pittas - Organ
Kurt Reil - Bongos

-----  ☆☆☆ -----


Комментариев нет:

Отправить комментарий